Don’t Shelve So Close To Me or CPD23 Thing 4

Twitter 

I feel terribly late for the Twitter Party and freely admit to being more than a little afraid.   What if no-one else arrives alone?  Will there be anyone that I know there?  What if no-one will speak to me?   As with many social events I found it a little easier once I found someone to hold my hand.  I mean, Twitter is not terribly welcoming to the uninitiated,  what with the hashtags and RTs.  It has a language and protocol all of its own.  And famous folk hang out there.  What if I accidentally directly tweet someone much more important than me?  Would it be like going to a tea party at Buckingham Palace and yelling ‘Whatcha Liz, great nosh!‘ from the buffet table?

Well, thanks to cpd23, whilst I certainly don’t claim to be Twitter competent I at least have an idea of what I don’t yet know.  I mean it’s only today that I learnt how to search by hashtag hence the terrible title pun #librarypop.

RSS 

Terribly useful but not terribly sexy.  If we were talking Enterprise D (NCC-1701-D) RSS feeds would be Engineering to Twitter’s Holodeck.  I’ve found the combined cpd23 RSS  feed useful and have popped it on the bottom left-hand side of my blog home page , just down there, look.

Storify

New to me and after a little investigation I find a common theme emerging:  I can see a social use immediately, hence the library craft story.  I’m hoping that a professional application will reveal itself in its own good time.

Keep Tweeting! Px

Comments
One Response to “Don’t Shelve So Close To Me or CPD23 Thing 4”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] good Sirs?  A tiny bit of cross-pollination:  MMM’12 has made me venture into Flickr, CPD23 has made me venture into Storify.  The intersection in the Venn Diagram of  library folks and […]



Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

